Top 7 Authors Like Danielle Steel

Danielle Steel is a fourth bestselling author of all time from America having more than 850 million copies sold. She has been based in California for larger part of her career and produces several books almost every single year with as many as 4-5 simultaneous projects. Formula of her books often involves rich families under crisis like facing jail, fraud, blackmail etc. 22 of her books have been adapted for television while books she has written are translated into 28 different languages globally. ‘Going Home’, ‘Now and Forever’, ‘The Promise’, ‘Summer’s End’, ‘Prodigal Son’ and ‘Undercover’ are some of books written by Danielle Steel. Some authors somewhat similar to Danielle Steel are listed below.

1- Debbie Macomber

Debbie Macomber

Debbie Macomber has won the inaugural fan-voted Quill Award for romance in 2005. Four of her novels have been adapted for made-for-TV movies while she has been awarded ‘Romance Writers of America’ and lifetime achievement award by none other than Romance Writers of America. ‘Starry Night’, ‘Mr. Miracle’, ‘Last One Home’ and ‘Three Brides, No Groom’ are some of her standalone books.

2- Elizabeth Adler

Elizabeth Adler

Elizabeth Adler is a British author born in Yorkshire and she met her husband while both of them were working in London. Both of them have travelled extensively and have lived in France, Brazil, United States, England and Ireland. Currently living in California, her writing career started with ‘Private Desires’. She also uses ‘Ariana Scott’ as her pseudonym and till yet she has written over twenty international bestselling novels. ‘Please Don’t Tell’, ‘Summer in Tuscany’, ‘Sailing to Capri’ and ‘A Place in the Country’ are some of her books.

3- Karyn Monk

Karyn Monk

Karyn Monk is Canadian bestselling author of historical romance novels and has won many awards. She currently is on a break from writing in order to spend time with her three children. Her novels are sensual and powerful and she is critically acclaimed for this feature of her novels. ‘Surrender to a Stranger’, ‘The Witch and the Warrior’, ‘Every Whispered Word’ and ‘My Favorite Thief’ are some of her famous novels.

4- Kathleen E. Woodiwiss

Advertisements

Kathleen E. Woodiwiss

She is deemed the pioneer of historical romance genre due to her publication of ‘The Flame and the Flower’ in 1972. She was born in Alexandria, Louisiana and she is the daughter of a World War I veteran. When she was twelve, her father died and her mother and elder sisters raised her. Due to her husband’s military career, they traveled to Japan where she worked as a model. She tried writing many times but due to slow speed, she got frustrated and stopped working on projects. It was when her husband got an electric typewriter; she started her novel in earnest. ‘Wolf and the Dove’, ‘Shanna’, ‘A Rose in Winter’ and ‘Everlasting’ are some of her famous novels.

5- Maeve Binchy

Maeve Binchy

Died in 2012, she was an Irish novelist, columnist, short story writer and speaker whose novels are translated in more than 30 languages and 40 million copies of her books are sold worldwide. She is the most recognizable author Ireland has ever had. ‘Light a Penny Candle’, ‘The Glass Lake’, ‘Nights of Rain and Stars’, ‘Minding Frankie’ and ‘A Week in Winter’ are some of her books.

6- Sidney Sheldon

Sidney Sheldon

Sidney Sheldon was an American author having TV career spanning over a 20-year period during which he presented ‘The Patty Duke Show’, ‘I Dream of Jeannie’ and ‘Hart to Hart’. After he turned 50, he started to write novels. ‘Master of the Game’, ‘The Other Side of Midnight’, ‘The Doomsday Conspiracy’ and ‘Rage of Angels’ are some of his novels and he is 7th bestselling fiction author of all time.

7- Catherine Coulter

Catherine Coulter

Catherine Coulter currently resides in California but she grew up on a horse ranch situated in Cameron County in Texas. When she was fourteen, she wrote two fifteen-pages novels. Her first novel ‘The Autumn Countess’ was published in 1978. In 1982 she quit her job and started full-time writing. Her novel ‘The Cove’ spent 9 weeks on NY Times Paperback Bestseller list and during this time, more than one million copies were sold. ‘Lord Harry’, ‘The Duke’, ‘The Heir’ and ‘The Rebel Bride’ are some of her single novels.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.