Top 6 Authors like James Rollins

James Rollins wrote the bestselling Sigma Force series including Sandstorm, Map of Bones, Black Order, The Judas Strain, The Last Oracle, The Doomsday Key, The Devil Colony, Bloodline and The eye of God. He has also published many individual adventure thrillers like Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, The Tenth Sigma Force and The 6th Extinction. He has written novels in Mystery and thriller, Literature and Fiction along with Science Fiction genre. Following are few other writers who are similar to James Rollins.

1. J.K. Rowling

J.K Rowling

Joanne Rowling having pen names J.K. Rowling and Robert Galbraith is a British novelist born in Yate, Gloucestershire in 1965. She has earned her fame from Harry Potter mystery adventure series. This series has won her many awards and more than 400 million copies of this series are sold worldwide. Not only awards but this series has become bestselling book series in the history and a series of movies made on the Harry Potter is second highest-grossing movie series in history. Other than the famous Harry Potter series, Rowling has also writer The Casual Vacancy using pseudonym Robert Galbraith, The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm. Rowling was living on state benefits and eventually achieved the multi-millionaire status in around five years and currently she is the United Kingdom’s best-selling living author having sales of more than 238 million Pound Sterling. Since 2012 Rowling has constantly been a part of the Top 20 richest woman of United Kingdom.

2. Christopher Paolini

Christopher Paolini

He is an American writer born in Los Angeles, California in 1983. His famous work is Inheritance Cycle series consisting of ‘Eragon’, ‘Eldest’, ‘Brisingr’ and ‘Inheritance’. With the publishing of Eragon, Paolini became New York Times bestselling author at the age of nineteen. More than 35 million copies of ‘Inheritance Cycle’ are sold globally and his books are translated and published in fifty-three countries. His early achievements indicated that he will be put in the same class as James Rollins and J.K. Rowling someday in near future.

3. Suzanne Marie Collins

Suzanne Marie Collins


She is an American TV writer and novelist who has earned fame through her New York Times bestselling series ‘The Underland Chronicles’ and ‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy. The Underland Chronicles consists of Gregor the Overlander, Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane, Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods, Gregor and the Marks of Secret, Gregor and the Code of Claw while The Hunger Games trilogy include The Hunger Games, Catching Fire and Mockingjay.

4. Cornelia Maria Funke

Cornelia Maria Funke

She is a German author born in 1958 and she is famous for her Inkheart trilogy published between 2004 and 2008. Her famous novels include MirrorWorld Series (Reckless, Fearless, Heartless) and Inkheart trilogy (Inkheart, Inkspell, Inkdeath). After her work has been translated into English, more than 2 million copies of her books are sold till yet.

5. Diana Wynne Jones

Diana Wynne Jones

Diana was a British writer born London in 1934 and died in 2011. Her famous work includes Chrestomanci series, The Dalemark series, Howl’s Moving Castle, Dark Lord of Derkholm and The Tough Guide to Fantasyland. She was diagnosed with lung cancer in 2009 and underwent surgery. She discontinued chemotherapy in 2010 because she felt that it only made her even more sick. By mid-2010 she had written half of her new book with plans to writer another one after but she died on 26 March 2011.

6. Shannon Hale

Shannon Hale

She is an American author who is famous for The Goose Girl. Her Princess Academy series include Princess Academy, Princess Academy: Palace of Stone, Princess Academy: The Forgotten Sisters while her Austenland series consists of Austenland and Midnight in Austenland. She has also written an illustrated series of two book with her husband as a co-author consisting of Rapunzel’s Revenge and Calamity Jack. She has won Josette Frank Award in 2003 for Goose Girl and Newbery Honor award in 2006 for Princess Academy. The standalone novel ‘Book of a Thousand Days’ earned her Whitney Award in 2007.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.