13 Authors like Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson is an American fantasy and science fiction writer. He is best known for the Cosmere universe, in which all his adult fantasy books are set; and his work in finishing Robert Jordan’s epic fantasy series The Wheel of Time. Brandon’s major books for the second half of 2016 are The Dark Talent, the final volume in Alcatraz Smedry’s autobiographical account of his battle against the Evil Librarians who secretly rule our world, and Arcanum Unbounded, the collection of short fiction in the Cosmere universe that includes the Mistborn series and the Stormlight Archive, among others. This collection features The Emperor’s Soul, Mistborn: Secret History, and a brand-new Stormlight Archive novella, Edgedancer.

    Brent Weeks

    Brent Weeks is an American fantasy writer. He made The New York Times Best Seller list with The Blinding Knife in its first month, September 2012. Brent Weeks was born and raised in Montana. After getting his paper keys from Hillsdale College, Brent had brief stints walking the earth like Caine from Kung Fu, tending bar, and corrupting the youth. (Not at the same time.) He started writing on bar napkins, then on lesson plans, then full time. Eventually, someone paid him for it. Brent lives in Oregon with his wife, Kristi. He doesn’t own cats or wear a ponytail.

    Popular Books by Brent Weeks:
    The Black Prism 2010, The Way of Shadows 2008, The Blood Mirror 2016, The Blinding Knife 2012 and The Broken Eye 2014

    Andy Weir

    Andrew Taylor Weir is an American novelist whose debut novel, The Martian, was later adapted into a film of the same name directed by Ridley Scott in 2015. He also worked as a computer programmer for much of his life. ANDY WEIR built a career as a software engineer until the success of his first published novel, THE MARTIAN, allowed him to live out his dream of writing fulltime. He is a lifelong space nerd and a devoted hobbyist of subjects such as relativistic physics, orbital mechanics, and the history of manned spaceflight. He also mixes a mean cocktail. He lives in California. Andy’s next book, ARTEMIS, is available now.

    Popular Books by Andy Weir:
    The Martian 2011, The Egg 2009, Artemis 2017, Perdido Em Marte and The Egg and Other Stories.

    Joe Abercrombie

    Joe Abercrombie is a British fantasy writer and film editor. He is the author of a trilogy called The First Law and other fantasy books in the same setting. His novel Half a King won the 2015 Locus Award for best Young Adult book. Joe Abercrombie was educated at Lancaster Royal Grammar School and Manchester University, where he studied psychology. He moved into television production before taking up a career as a freelance film editor. During a break between jobs he began writing The Blade Itself in 2002, completing it in 2004. It was published by Gollancz in 2006 and was followed by two other books in The First Law Trilogy, Before They Are Hanged and Last Argument of Kings. He currently lives and works in London with his wife and daughter. In early 2008 Joe Abercrombie was one of the contributors to the BBC Worlds of Fantasy series, alongside other contributors such as Michael Moorcock, Terry Pratchett and China Mieville.

    Popular Books by Joe Abercrombie:
    Half a King 2014, The Blade Itself 2006, Half the World 2015, Best Served Cold 2009 and Before They Are Hanged 2007

    Steven Erikson

    Steven Erikson is the pseudonym of Steve Rune Lundin, a Canadian novelist, who was educated and trained as both an archaeologist and anthropologist. Steven Erikson is the pseudonym of Steve Rune Lundin, a Canadian novelist, who was educated and trained as both an archaeologist and anthropologist. His best-known work is the series, the Malazan Book of the Fallen.

    Popular Books by Steven Erikson:
    Gardens of the Moon 1999, Deadhouse Gates 2000, Memories of Ice 2001, House of Chains 2002 and The Bonehunters 2006

    Scott Lynch

    Scott Lynch is an American fantasy author who wrote the Gentleman Bastard series of novels. His first novel, The Lies of Locke Lamora, was purchased by Orion Books in August 2004 and published in June. In addition to being a freelance writer for various role playing game companies he has done all the usual jobs writers put in their bios: dishwasher, waiter, web designer, marketing writer, office manager and short-order cook.

    Popular Books by Scott Lynch:
    The Thorn of Emberlai 2015, The Lies of Locke Lamora 2006, The Republic of Thieves 2013, Red Seas Under Red Skies 2007 and The Gentleman Bastard S 2016

    Daniel Abraham

    Daniel James Abraham, pen names M. L. N. Hanover and James S. A. Corey, is an American novelist, comic book writer, screenwriter, and television producer. Daniel James Abraham, pen names M.L.N. Hanover and James S.A. Corey, is an American novelist, comic book writer, screenwriter, and television producer. He is best known as the author of The Long Price Quartet and The Dagger and the Coin fantasy series, and with Ty Franck, as the co-author of The Expanse series of science fiction novels, written under the joint pseudonym James S.A. Corey.

    Popular Books by Daniel Abraham:
    The Dragon’s Path2011, A Shadow in Summer2006, The King’s Blood 2012, The Spider’s War 2016 and The Tyrant’s Law 2013

    Robert Jordan

    James Oliver Rigney Jr., better known by his pen name Robert Jordan, was an American author of epic fantasy. He is best known for the Wheel of Time series, which comprises 14 books and a prequel novel.Robert Jordan was the pen name of James Oliver Rigney, Jr., under which he was best known as the author of the bestselling The Wheel of Time fantasy series. He also wrote under the names Reagan O’Neal and Jackson O’Reilly

    Popular Books by Robert Jordan:
    The Eye of the World 1990, The Dragon Reborn 1991, A Memory of Light 2013, The Great Hunt 1990 and Towers of Midnight 2010

    Lois McMaster Bujold

    Lois McMaster Bujold is an American speculative fiction writer. She is one of the most acclaimed writers in her field, having won the Hugo Award for best novel four times, matching Robert A. Heinlein’s record, not counting his Retro Hugo. Her fantasy from HarperCollins includes the award-winning Chalion series and the Sharing Knife tetralogy; her science fiction from Baen Books features the perennially bestselling Vorkosigan Saga. Her work has been translated into over twenty languages.

    Popular Books by Lois McMaster Bujold:
    Barrayar 1991, Shards of Honor 1986, The Warrior’s Apprentice 1986, The Vor Game 1990 and A Civil Campaign 1999

    Brian McClellan

    Brian McClellan is an American writer of epic fantasy. He is best known for The Powder Mage trilogy. Brian McClellan is an epic fantasy author. He studied writing under Brandon Sanderson and Orson Scott Card and was an honorable mention in the Writers of the Future Contest.Brian is an avid player of video games and reader of epic novels and history. His hobbies include making homemade jam from local berries and tending to his hive of honeybees. He lives in Cleveland, Ohio with his wife, two dogs, and cat.

    Popular Books by Brian McClellan:
    Promise of Blood 2013, The Crimson Campaign 2014, Sins of Empire 2017, The Autumn Republic 2015 and Return to Honor 2015

    Peter V. Brett

    Peter V. Brett is an American fantasy novelist. He is the author of the Demon Cycle, whose first volume was published in the UK by HarperCollins’s Voyager imprint in 2008 as The Painted Man and in the US by Del Rey Books as The Warded Man. Peter V. Brett is the New York Times and international bestselling author of the Demon Cycle series, which has sold millions of copies in 25 languages worldwide. Novels include The Warded Man, The Desert Spear, The Daylight War, and most recently, The Skull Throne. The final novel in the series, The Core, will be published in 2017.

    Popular Books by Peter V. Brett:
    Skull Throne: Book Fou 2015, The Painted Man 2008, The Desert Spear 2010, The Daylight War 2013 and The Core 2017

    Jim Butcher

    Jim Butcher is an American author best known for his contemporary fantasy book series The Dresden Files. He is also the author of the Codex Alera series, and the Cinder Spires series. im Butcher is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera, and a new steampunk series, the Cinder Spires. His resume includes a laundry list of skills which were useful a couple of centuries ago, and he plays guitar quite badly. An avid gamer, he plays tabletop games in varying systems, a variety of video games on PC and console, and LARPs whenever he can make time for it. Jim currently resides mostly inside his own head, but his head can generally be found in his home town of Independence, Missouri.

    Popular Books by  Jim Butcher:
    Storm Front 2000, Fool Moon 2001, Skin Game 2014, The Aeronaut 2015 and Grave Peril 2001

    Michael J. Sullivan

    Michael J. Sullivan is an American writer of epic fantasy and science fiction, best known for his debut series, The Riyria Revelations, which has been translated into fourteen languages. After finding a manual typewriter in the basement of a friend’s house, Michael J. Sullivan inserted a blank piece of paper and typed: It was a dark and stormy night. He was just ten years old and mimicking the only writer he knew at the time…Snoopy. That spark ignited a flame and Michael’s desire to fill blank pages would become a life-long obsession. As an adult, Michael spent more than ten years developing his craft by studying authors such as Stephen King, Ernest Hemingway, and John Steinbeck.

    Popular Books by Michael J. Sullivan:
    Theft of Swords 2011, Age of Myth 2015, The Crown Tower 2013, The Death of Dulgath: The Riyri 201 and Age of Swords: Book Two.

    Ken Scholes

    Ken Scholes is an American science fiction and fantasy writer living in St. Helens, Oregon, United States. He refers to himself as “trailer boy”, a reference to his childhood home. Ken Scholes is the award-winning, critically-acclaimed author of five novels and over fifty short stories. His work has appeared in print for over sixteen years. His series, The Psalms of Isaak, is published by Tor Books and his short fiction has been released in three volumes by Fairwood Press.

    Popular Books by Ken Scholes:
    Lamentation 2009, Canticle 2009, Hymn: The Final Volume o and 2017 Antiphon 2010

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.