8 Authors Like Jodi Picoult

jodi-picoultJodi Lynn Picoult  is an American author. She was awarded the New England Bookseller Award for fiction in 2003. Picoult currently has approximately 14 million copies of her books in print worldwide. Picoult was born and raised in Nesconset on Long Island; her family moved to New Hampshire when she was 13 years old.

She studied writing at Princeton University, and graduated in 1987. She published two short stories in Seventeen magazine while still in college. Immediately after graduation, she began a variety of jobs, ranging from editing textbooks to teaching eighth-grade English. She earned a master’s degree in education from Harvard University.

Picoult became the writer of DC Comics’ Wonder Woman (vol. 3) series following the departure of fellow writer Allan Heinberg. Her first issue (#6) was released on March 28, 2007, and her last was issue No. 10 (released on June 27, 2007).

Nineteen Minutes, Picoult’s novel about the aftermath of a school shooting in a small town, has become her first book to debut at No. 1 on the New York Times Best Seller list. Her book Change of Heart was published on March 4, 2008, and became Picoult’s second novel to debut at No. 1 on the NYT Best Seller list.

1. Diane Chamberlain

Diane ChamberlainDiane Chamberlain was born and raised in Plainfield, New Jersey and spent her summers at the Jersey Shore. She also lived for many years in San Diego and northern Virginia before making North Carolina her home.

Diane Chamberlain is the USA Today and Sunday Times bestselling author of 24 novels published in more than twenty languages. Some of her most popular books include Necessary Lies, The Silent Sister, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, and The Keeper of the Light Trilogy. Diane likes to write complex stories about relationships between men and women, parents and children, brothers and sisters, and friends. Although the thematic focus of her books often revolves around family, love, compassion and forgiveness, her stories usually feature a combination of drama, mystery, secrets and intrigue. Diane’s background in psychology has given her a keen interest in understanding the way people tick, as well as the background necessary to create her realistic characters.

Diane lives with her partner, photographer John Pagliuca, and her sheltie, Cole. She has three stepdaughters, two sons-in-law, and four grandchildren. She’s currently at work on her next novel.

2. Elin Hilderbrand

Elin HilderbrandElin Hilderbrand is an American writer of Summer beach read romance novels. Hilderbrand’s novels have all been set on and around Nantucket Island where she lives with three children. She was born and raised in Collegeville, Pennsylvania and is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and was previously a teaching/writing fellow at the University of Iowa Writers’ Workshop.

Elin Hilderbrand lives on Nantucket with her husband and their three young children. She grew up in Collegeville, Pennsylvania, and traveled extensively before settling on Nantucket, which has been the setting for her five previous novels. Hilderbrand is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and the graduate fiction workshop at the University of Iowa.

3. Lisa Scottoline

Lisa ScottolineLisa Scottoline is the New York Times bestselling author and Edgar award-winning author of 23 novels, including her latest, EVERY FIFTEEN MINUTES, which releases in April 2015. She also writes a weekly column with her daughter Francesca Serritella for the Philadelphia Inquirer titled “Chick Wit” which is a witty and fun take on life from a woman’s perspective.

Born in Philadelphia, Scottoline earned an undergraduate degree, as well as a law degree from the University of Pennsylvania and later became a litigator at a law firm in Philadelphia. After the birth of her daughter she left the law firm and started writing, as a way to earn money from home. Final Appeal received the 1995 Edgar Award for “Best Paperback Original Mystery,”[3] She has since written 14 bestselling novels, including Look Again and Don’t Go, both which reached number two on the New York Times Best Seller List. Her novels have been translated into 25 languages.

4. Chris Bohjalian

Advertisements

chris-bohjalianChris Bohjalian is the author of 19 books, most of which were New York Times bestsellers. His work has been translated into over 30 languages and three times become movies. His new novel, “The Sleepwalker,” a story of a mother of two with a very rare form of parasomnia who disappears one summer night, arrives in January 2017. His books have been chosen as Best Books of the Year by the Washington Post, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, the Hartford Courant, the Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Kirkus Reviews, Bookpage, and Salon.

His awards include the ANCA Freedom Award for his work educating Americans about the Armenian Genocide; the ANCA Arts and Letters Award for The Sandcastle Girls, as well as the Saint Mesrob Mashdots Medal; the New England Society Book Award for The Night Strangers; the New England Book Award; Russia’s Soglasie (Concord) Award for The Sandcastle Girls; a Boston Public Library Literary Light; a finalist for the Lambda Literary Award for Trans-Sister Radio; and the Anahid Literary Award. His novel, Midwives, was a number one New York Times bestseller, a selection of Oprah’s Book Club, and a New England Booksellers Association Discovery pick. He is a Fellow of the Vermont Academy of Arts and Sciences.

5. Kristin Hannah

kristinKristin Hannah is an award-winning and bestselling American writer, who has won numerous awards, including the Golden Heart, the Maggie, and the 1996 National Reader’s Choice award. Kristin Hannah is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty-one novels, including the blockbuster Firefly Lane and #1 bestsellers Night Road and Home Front. She is a former lawyer turned writer and is the mother of one son. She lives in the Pacific Northwest and Hawaii with her husband.

She graduated from law school in Washington and practiced law in Seattle before becoming a full-time writer. She lives on Bainbridge Island, Washington, with her husband and their son.

6. Jacquelyn Mitchard

jacquelynJacquelyn Mitchard’s first novel, The Deep End of the Ocean, was named by USA Today as one of the ten most influential books of the past 25 years – second only to the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling (but second by a long shot, it must be said.)

The Deep End of the Ocean was chosen as the first novel in the book club made famous by the TV host Oprah Winfrey, and transformed into a feature film produced by and starring Michelle Pfeiffer.

All of Mitchard’s novels have been greater or lesser bestsellers – and include The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity, Twelve Times Blessed, The Breakdown Lane and Cage of Stars. Critics have praised them for their authentic humanity and skilful command of story. Readers identify because they see reflected, in her characters – however extreme their circumstances – emotions they already understand.

Mitchard’s first story of adventure and her eighth novel of realistic contemporary fiction is Still Summer (August, 2007). In the same month, the paperback version of her most critically acclaimed novel, Cage of Stars (August 2007), appears from Warner Books.

7. P.L. Gaus

p-l-gausPaul L. Gaus writes The Amish-Country Mysteries, set authentically in the Amish settlements of Holmes County, Ohio. Three life-long friends – Professor Michael Branden, Sheriff Bruce Robertson, and Pastor Caleb Troyer – work sometimes together and other times at crossed purposes to solve mysteries involving the often inscrutable Amish sects of the region. The rich cast of English characters includes the professor’s insightful wife Caroline, Holmes County’s tenacious Medical Examiner Melissa Taggert, and young Ellie Troyer, the sheriff’s resolute dispatcher/secretary. Paul’s novels illuminate Amish culture and lifestyle in the context of murder investigations that pull aside the veil on the daily lives of these purposefully plain religious separatists.

There are currently eight novels in the series, published by Plume, a Division of Penguin Group USA. The ninth novel, Whiskers of The Lion, is soon to be published by Plume. The first seven of his novels were originally published as The Ohio Amish Mysteries, by Ohio University Press, before they were all republished as trade paperbacks by Plume.

Paul’s extensive knowledge of the culture and lifestyle of the many Ohio Amish sects comes from over forty years of travel throughout Holmes and the surrounding rural counties in Ohio. His stories are rich with culture, much like the works of Tony Hillerman. It was Paul’s friendship with Tony Hillerman that first inspired him to write culture-based mysteries about Amish people.

8. Elizabeth Flock

elizabethElizabeth Flock lives in New York City. Former print journalist Elizabeth Flock reported for TIME and PEOPLE magazines before becoming an on-air correspondent for CBS News. Her acclaimed debut novel, BUT INSIDE I’M SCREAMING, chronically the psychological struggles of a young television reporter in New York, was released in 2003. Her second novel, ME & EMMA, became a New York Times bestseller and was an Indiebound (formerly Booksense) Notable Book of 2005. EVERYTHING MUST GO, Elizabeth’s third novel, loosely based on a clothing store in Connecticut, was published in 2007. Elizabeth’s books have been translated into seven languages and published in twelve countries.
Her fourth novel, SLEEPWALKING IN DAYLIGHT, came out in 2009, and was chosen as an Indie Next List (formerly Booksense) title. WHAT HAPPENED TO MY SISTER, a follow-up to ME & EMMA, will be published by Random House on August 7, 2012.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.