8 More Authors Like D.E. Stevenson

Dorothy Emily Stevenson was born in United Kingdom and she was enormously successful writer in Literature and Fiction, and Romance genres. From 1923 to 1970, over four million copies of her books were sold in Britain while over three million copies sold in the United States. Some of her books include ‘Mrs. Tim Christie’, ‘The Four Graces’, ‘The Young Clementia’, ‘Celia’s House’, ‘Listening Valley’ and ‘Mrs. Tim Carries On’. Some authors similar to D.E. Stevenson are listed below.

1- E.M. Delafield

E.M. Delafield

E.M. Delafield was a British author who lived from 1890 to 1943 most commonly known for her autobiographical ‘Diary of a Provincial Lady’. ‘The Provincial Lady in London’ and ‘The Provincial Lady in America’ are two other biographies that happened after ‘Diary of a Provincial Lady’. ‘The Way Things Are’, ‘Thank Heaven Fasting’ and ‘Consequences’ are some of her other books.

2- Monica Dickens

Monica Dickens

Monica Dickens was born in London on 10th of May 1915 and died on 25th of December 1992. She married US naval officer Roy Stratton in 1951 and moved to America. ‘Mariana’, ‘One Pair of Hands’, ‘One Pair of Feet’, ‘My Turn To Make The Tea’ and ‘The Winds of Heaven’ are some of her famous books.

3- Denis Mackail

Denis Mackail

Born in London back in June 1892 and died in August 1971, Denis Mackail was a British author whose father was also a writer. After World War I when office jobs got insecure, he started to write a novel in order to support his family. His sister Angela Thirkell was also a famous novelist. ‘Greenery Street’, ‘Romance to the Rescue’, ‘Tales From Greenery Street’ and ‘Another Part of the Wood’ are some of his famous published work.

4- Angela Thirkell

Angela Thirkell

Advertisements

Angela Thirkell is a British author born in London (1890-1961). She married James Campbell McInnes, a professional Baritone who performed at concert halls all over UK. After the birth of her 3rd child, she got divorce from her husband and after some time got married to George Lancelot Thirkell in 1918. ‘High Rising’, ‘Wild Strawberries’, ‘The Brandons’, ‘Pomfret Towers’ and ‘Summer Half’ are some of the books written by her.

5- Cicely Mary Hamilton

Cicely Hamilton

Cicely Mary Hamilton (1872-1952) was a British author portrayed in E.M Delafield’s ‘A Provincial Lady Goes Further’ as Emma Hay because they were both friends. ‘Diana of Dobson’s’, ‘Theodore Savage’, ‘Marriage As A Trade’, ‘Just to get married’ and ‘William – An Englishman’ are some of her books.

6- Marghanita Laski

Marghanita Laski

She was an English radio panelist, journalist and novelist who wrote books on George Eliot as well as Jane Austen. ‘Little Boy Lost’, ‘The Victorian Chaise Longue’, ‘The Village’, ‘Ecstasy’, ‘Jane Austen’ and ‘Love on the Supertax’ are some of her books.

7- Dorothy Whipple

Dorothy Whipple

Dorothy Whipple was born in 1893 and had a happy childhood in Blackburn and she was part of a large family parented by a local architect. She worked for three years as a secretary to Henry Whipple who was an educational administrator and widower for twenty four years. She married him in 1917 and the two spent most of their life in Nottingham. ‘Young Anne’ was her first extremely successful novel. ‘They Knew Mr. Knight’ and ‘They were Sisters’ were made into films.

8- Vere Hodgson

Vere Hodgson

She is a British female author born in Edgbaston, Birmingham in 1901 where her widowed mother used to run a boarding house. She read history at Birmingham University. She started to help run a local charity in early 1930s in Notting Hill Gate and kept her diary from girlhood till 1976 and published it as ‘Few Eggs and No Oranges: The Diaries of Vere Hodgson 1940-45’. She went to live in Church Stretton in Shropshire and died there in 1979.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.