6 Authors like George Orwell

Eric Arthur Blair used the pen name George Orwell is an English novelist who lived from 1903 to 1950. Not only a novelist, he was essayist, journalist and critic. Lucid prose was his specialty and he was openly supportive of democratic socialism. He wrote literary criticism, poetry, fiction and polemical journalism. He is best known for his novel Nineteen Eighty-Four and Animal Farm. Non-fiction work by George Orwell includes The Road to Wigan Pier in which he shared experience of life of working class in Northern England. Home to Catalonia is another non-fiction by George Orwell sharing his experience of Spanish Civil War. His essays on politics, literature and language are also very popular. Below is a list of some authors who in one way or another resemble George Orwell.

1. Aldous Huxley

Aldous Huxley smoking, circa 1946

Aldous Leonard Huxley was an English writer and a prominent member of his family. His best known novels include Brave New World featuring dystopian London and non-fiction book The Doors of Perception and wide range of essays written by him. He was the editor of Oxford Poetry in his early career writing short stories and poetry. During the middle times of his career he wrote about travel, film stories and scripts. Later part of his life was spent in Los Angeles, United States. He was elected as Companion of Literature by Royal Society of Literature just a year before his death in 1962.

2. Franz Kafka

Franz Kafka

Franz Kafka was a German writer who wrote many novels and short stories but was well-recognized by his critic work as well. He is one of the most influential authors during the 20th century. His famous work include Die Verwanding, The Metamorphosis, Der Process and Das Schloss having themes of physical and psychological brutality, parent-child conflict, characters on terrifying quests, labyrinths of bureaucracy etc. He was born in German-speaking Jew family in the capital city of Kingdom of Bohemia, Prague.

3. Ernest Hemingway

Ernest Hemingway

Advertisements

Born in 1899 and died in 1961, Ernest Hemingway was an American author and journalist who had a great influence on 20th century fiction due to his economical and understated style of writing. His life full of adventure and public image influenced coming generations. He also won Nobel Prize in Literature in 1954. One of his novels “A Farewell to Arms” was published in 1929 in which he shared his World War I experiences as an ambulance driver. He was seriously wounded and came back home and then he wrote a book based on his experiences.

4. Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury

Ray Douglas Bradbury lived from 1920 till 2012 and was an American author. His work mainly focused on fantasy, science, fiction, horror and mystery fiction. Dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451 is his best known novel. Others of his world-famous works include The Martian Chronicles and The Illustrated Man. In addition he wrote many television scripts and screenplays and his work has been also adapted into comic books, TV shows and movies.

5. Albert Camus

Albert Camus

A French Noble Prize winning author, journalist and philosopher who rejected being an existentialist while being classified by people as one during his whole life and after. He openly rejected any ideological associations in an interview. He was born in Algeria and studied at University of Algiers. He formed the Group for International Liaisons within the Revolutionary Union Movement in 1949 after he split with Citizens of the World movement. He intended to “denounce two ideologies found in both the USSR and the USA” regarding idolatry of technology of both the countries.

6. Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoyevsky

Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoyevsky

He was a Russian novelist, essayist, journalist and short story writer whose literary works aimed to explore human psychology in times of troubled political, social and spiritual atmosphere in 19th century Russia. Preoccupation with Christianity is clearly visible in his work. Although he started to write in the age of 20 but his first novel “Poor Folk” was published at the age of 25. “Crime and Punishment”, “The Idiot”, “Demons” and “The Brothers Karamazov” are some of his most renowned works. He is considered as one of the greatest psychologists in world literature by many critics of literature. “Notes From Underground” is a novella written by him and it is believed to be one of the very first works of existentialist literature.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.