10 More Authors like Mark Twain

Born on 30 November 1985, Samuel Langhorne Clemens, who actually best known by his pen name Mark Twain, was one of the most popular American writers and lectures. Among his great novels, the masterpieces of Mark Twain are The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. For his great work in satirical novels, Mark Twain was declared as The Great American Novelist.

Mark Twain Bestselling Novels

  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
  • The Prince and the Pauper
  • A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court
  • The Adventures of Tom Sawyer & Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

Jonathan Swift

Born on November 30, 1667, Jonathan Swift was an Irish artist who is best known for his notable works in the shape of A Tale of Tub, An Argument Against Abolishing Christianity, and A Modest Proposal. Jonathan Swift is widely regarded as the best satirist in the English literature.

Jonathan Swift Bestselling Novels

  • Gulliver’s Travels
  • A Modest Proposal
  • A Modest Proposal and Other Satirical Works
  • A Tale of Tub
  • Directions to Servants

Robert Louis Stevenson

Next author that we recommend just like Mark Twain is none other but Robert Louis Stevenson. Born on November 13, 1850, Robert Louis Stevenson was a Scottish novelist and travel writer. Those who want to get the touch of the writing of Mark Twain will surely like the work of Robert Louis Stevenson whose work has been admired by the writers of the modern age.

Robert Louis Stevenson Bestselling Novels

  • Treasure Island
  • The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde
  • Kidnapped
  • A Child’s Garden of Verses
  • A Black Allow
  • The Suicide Club

Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens was surely one of the greatest novelists of the Victorian age. Born on February 07, 1812, Charles Dickens created the best class work in fictional characters that’s why he is still popular today and is being recognized by the critics and scholars of today as well. His work was simply the work of a literary genius.

Charles Dickens Bestselling Novels

  • A Tale of Two Cities
  • Great Expectations
  • A Christmas Carol
  • Oliver Twist
  • David Copperfield
  • Bleak House

Herman Melville

Born on 01 August 1819, Herman Melville was one of the most popular poets, short story writers and novelists who were popular during the American Renaissance period. Herman Melville wrote in multiple genres that include captivity narrative, a sea story, tall tale, romance, and travelogue.

Herman Melville Bestselling Books

  • Bartleby the Scrivener
  • Billy Budd, Sailor
  • Benito Cereno
  • The Confidence – Man
  • Redburn, White – Jacket, Moby-Dick

Jules Verne

Jules Verne was a French author and novelist who wrote the legendary and one of the bestselling novels titled Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea. Jules Verne was the author of almost fifteen hundred books, novels, and short stories. Jules Verne had written a lot of science fiction and adventures novels.

Advertisements

Jules Verne Bestselling Novels

  • Around the World in Eighty Days
  • Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea
  • Journey to the Center of the Earth
  • The Mysterious Island
  • From the Earth to the Moon

John Steinbeck

Those who have read Of Mice and Men must be aware of American author named John Steinbeck. Born on 27 February 1902, John Steinbeck was one of the best authors of his age despite the fact he had written only twenty-seven books. But all of his books, novels, and short stories are still popular since the date of writing.

John Steinbeck Bestselling Books

  • Of Mice and Men
  • East of Eden
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • The Pearl
  • Cannery Row

Alexandre Dumas

It is really hard to beat Mark Twain, but there is another named Alexandre Dumas who can surely make a face to face competition to the later one author. Alexandre Dumas was the author of almost two thousand books, novels, and short stories. Much of his work has been translated in nearly one hundred international languages.

Alexandre Dumas Bestselling Novels

  • The Three Musketeers
  • Twenty Years After
  • The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later
  • The Count of Monte Cristo
  • Robin Hood, The Prince of Thieves
  • Twenty Years After

Theodore Dreiser

Truly speaking, American authors and writers have earned a good fame across the globe for their creative literary work. Here comes another name Theodore Dreiser who was the novelist of the naturalist school. Despite focusing on the moral code, the work of Theodore Dreiser describes those who are known the real struggler.

Theodore Dreiser Bestselling Novels

  • An American Tragedy
  • Sister Carrier
  • The Financier
  • Jennie Gerhardt
  • The Stoic
  • The Genius

Walter Scott

Walter Scott, a Scottish author, is best known for his Waverley Novels. Once you read the novels of Walter Scott, you will come to know about the magic of this writer of who he will captivate your attention and will force you to live the life of both ordinary and great people at a time. He will show you how dramatic changes in the history took place.

Walter Scott Bestselling Novels

  • Ivanhoe
  • Rob Ro
  • Waverley
  • The Talisman
  • The Bride of Lammermoor
  • The Lady of the Lake

Lewis Carroll

People know him for his skills in mathematics and for being the best photographer, but the fact is that Lewis Carroll has written dozens of books about children’s literature, fantasy work, science fiction and mathematical logic. One of the best novels of Lewis Carroll is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. All books and novels of Lewis Carroll depict the genre of literary nonsense and mathematical logic.

Lewis Carroll Bestselling Books

  • Alice in Wonderland
  • Through the Looking-Glass, and What Alice Found There
  • Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Other Stories
  • The Annotate Alice: The Definitive Edition

1 Comment

  1. God I get sick of the predictable sameness of the posts to every single story. But having gone through a one way door, there may be no turning back! Remarkable to note that we’ve come a long way from the days when people protested the horror of Mark Twain.
    Just kidding

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.