10 Best Comic Fantasy Authors Like Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett, one of the best UK bestselling authors, who is no more among us, has fascinated his fans with his marvelous work in comic fantasy. Known by his notable works Discworld, Good Omens and Nations, almost eighty-five million books of Terry Pratchett got published in thirty-seven international languages. Before discussing the authors like Terry Pratchett, here are his notable novels.

Terry Pratchett Bestselling Books

  • Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch
  • Mort
  • The Color of Magic
  • Guards! Guards!
  • Equal Rites

1. Mike Ashley

mike-ashley-author

Those who like the Terry Pritchett must like the work of Mike Ashley that she has done for his fans. Her work up to some extent is near to the Terry Pratchett. This British-based editor-author is the editor and writer of mystery, science fiction, and fantasy novels and books.

Mike Ashley Bestselling Books

  • The Mammoth Book of New Sherlock Homes Adventures
  • The Mammoth Book of Comic Fantasy
  • Historical Whodunits
  • Steampunk Prime: A Vintage Steampunk Reader

2. Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman has written more books as compared to the author of whom alternatives we are looking for. Neil Gaiman is the writer of short novels, fictions, graphic novels, and comic books. Almost four hundred plus novel are at the award of Neil Gaiman in which American Gods is the notable one.

Neil Gaiman Bestselling Books

  • Coraline
  • American Gods
  • The Graveyard Book
  • The Ocean at the End of the Lane
  • Neverwhere

3. Roger Zelaznyroger-zelazny

This American writer and poet were surely like Terry Pratchett. Roger Zelazny was best known for his creative work in science fiction-based novels and short stories. In addition to a novelist, author, and writer, Roger Zelazny was a port too. You must read his work.

Roger Zelazny Bestselling Books

  • Nine Princes in Amber
  • The Great Book of Amber
  • Lord of Light
  • The Courts of Chaos
  • The Guns of Avalon
  • The Hand of Oberon
  • Sing of the Unicorn

4. Peter Haining

peter-haining

The author of The Flying Sorceres: More Comic Tales of Fantasy and almost three hundred other books, Peter Haining was an author and journalist was just like Terry Pratchett. He was even more than as compared to the Terry Pratchett. Peter Haining wrote dozens of books on nonfiction topics.

Peter Haining Bestselling Books

  • The Wizards of Odd
  • The Flying Sorcerers: More Comic Tales of Fantasy
  • The Mammoth Book of Haunted House Stories
  • Knights of Madness
  • The Mammoth Book of Modern Ghost Stories
  • Great Irish Tales of Horror: A Treasury of Fear

5. Robert Asprin

robert-asprin

This author is no more among use but did a lot in the field of fantasy and science fiction novels. Robert Asprin was best known for his humorous work that he used to embed in his usual work. His work is still more popular after his death.

Advertisements

Robert Asprin Bestselling Books

  • Myth Adventures Series
  • Phule’s Company
  • Thieves’ World

6. Tanya Huff

tanya-huff

Tanya Huff is a fantasy and science fiction based topic writer from Canada. She is writing since 1980 and so far has given almost one hundred and thirty-seven books. Among a lot of books, her most popular one is Blood Books series. Most of her work has been adapted for TV series as well.

Tanya Huff Bookselling Books

  • Blood Price
  • Valor’s Choice
  • Blood Trail
  • Sing the Four Quarters
  • Summon the Keeper
  • Blood Lines
  • Blood Pact

7. Raymond E. Feist

raymond-e-feist

Next best authors like Terry Pratchett is Raymond E. Feist that is best known for science fiction and fantasy novels. Raymond E. Feist is a Times of London and the New York Times, bestselling writer. One of his notable work can be read in The Riftwar Cycle that contains novels and short stories.

Raymond E. Feist Bestselling Books

  • The Riftware Series
  • Daughter of the Empire
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen
  • Magician: Apprentice, Volume I

8. Diana Wynne Jones

diana-wynne-jones

Diana Wynne Jones is the author of one hundred books in which her most popular one is Howl’s Moving Castle. This British-based novelist has worked a lot for adults and children by writing dozens of fantasy and fictions novels. Her notable works including bestselling books like Dalemark, Dark Lord od Derkhol, and the Chrestomanci series.

Diana Wynne Jones Bestselling Books

  • Howl’s Moving Castle Series
  • Chrestomanci Series
  • Dark Lord of Derkholm

9. David Gemmell

david-gemmell

Only a few people in the world is able to make their debut work the remarkable one. Same happened in the case of David Gemmell when his debuted novel Legend emerged as one of the best and top selling novels in the world. This British-based author was the writer of dozens of heroic fantasy novels and books.

David Gemmell Bestselling Books

  • The Drenai Saga Series
  • Lord of the Silver Bow
  • Sword in the Storm
  • Troy Series

10. Craig Shaw Gardner

craig-shaw-gardner-2

This American author named Craig Shaw Gardner is known for his creative work in the field of fantasy novels. However, the another reason behind the popularity of Craig Shaw Gardner is that he created the parodies similar to the Terry Pratchett that’s why people like to read him again and again.

Craig Shaw Gardner Bestselling Books

  • A Malady of Magicks
  • Return to Chaos
  • A Multitude of Monsters
  • A Night in the Netherhells
  • Batman
  • Back to the Future

1 Comment

  1. I love Terry Pratchett and I like Neil Gaiman but not as much. I have written two comedy fantasy books myself and am indebted to the amazing Terry Pratchett.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.