10 Authors like Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl was a British novelist, short story writer, poet, screenwriter, and fighter pilot. His books have sold more than 250 million copies worldwide.

Born in Wales to Norwegian parents, Dahl served in the Royal Air Force during the Second World War, in which he became a flying ace and intelligence officer, rising to the rank of acting wing commander. He rose to prominence in the 1940s with works for both children and adults and he became one of the world’s best-selling authors. He has been referred to as “one of the greatest storytellers for children of the 20th century”. His awards for contribution to literature include the 1983 World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement, and the British Book Awards’ Children’s Author of the Year in 1990. In 2008, The Times placed Dahl 16th on its list of “The 50 greatest British writers since 1945”.

Dahl’s short stories are known for their unexpected endings and his children’s books for their unsentimental, macabre, often darkly comic mood, featuring villainous adult enemies of the child characters. His books champion the kind-hearted, and feature an underlying warm sentiment. Dahl’s works for children include James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Matilda, The Witches, Fantastic Mr Fox, The BFG, The Twits and George’s Marvellous Medicine. His adult works include Tales of the Unexpected.

John Dennis Fitzgerald

John Dennis Fitzgerald  was an American author. Fitzgerald was born in Price, Utah, the son of an Irish Catholic father and a Scandinavian Mormon mother. He left Utah in 1925, at the age of 18, and held a variety of jobs, including playing in a jazz band, working at a bank and working for a steel company.

Fitzgerald published his first novel, Papa Married a Mormon, in 1955. Other novels for adults about late nineteenth and early twentieth century Utah followed. Fitzgerald had many stories published in magazines, and he also co-wrote two textbooks about creative writing. In the 1960s, he turned his attention to books for children, writing the highly successful The Great Brain series, in which his characters are loosely based on characters from his own family and community, including himself. The Great Brain is based on his brother, Tom Fitzgerald (1902-1988). Fitzgerald changed many family details in the Great Brain series. He omitted his oldest sibling Isabelle and his younger brothers Charles and Gerald, gave his older brother William the name Sweyn, and invented a family custom of giving sons the middle name Dennis (his older brothers were William J. and Thomas N., not Sweyn D. and Tom D.)

The novels are structured like a collection of short stories, in which Tom either swindles people and then rationalizes it by claiming it was to teach them a lesson, or solves an important problem for the community. There are eight books in the series.

Anna Maria

Anna Maria Geertruida “Annie” Schmidt was a Dutch writer. She is called the mother of the Dutch theatrical song[4] and the queen of Dutch children’s literature,[5] praised for her “delicious Dutch idiom,” and considered one of the greatest Dutch writers. An ultimate honour was extended to her posthumously, in 2007, when a group of Dutch historians compiled the “Canon of Dutch History” and included Schmidt, alongside national icons such as Vincent van Gogh and Anne Frank.

Although Schmidt wrote poetry, songs, books, plays, musicals, and radio and television drama for adults, she is known best for children’s books. Her best-known work for children may be the series Jip and Janneke. Many of her books, such as Pluk van de Petteflet, were illustrated by Fiep Westendorp.

Schmidt received the 1988 Hans Christian Andersen Medal for her lasting contribution as a children’s writer. The biennial award conferred by the International Board on Books for Young People is the highest recognition available to a writer or illustrator of children’s books.

Bruce Coville

Coville was born on May 16, 1950 in Syracuse, New York,[2] where he resides to this day. Bruce Coville’s father (born Arthur Farrington) was adopted by his aunt, where he adopted her surname of Coville. While waiting to publish his first novel, Coville was employed in a number of professions including toymaker, gravedigger, cookware salesman, assembly line worker, and elementary school teacher working with second and fourth graders.

Coville began his love of books as a child, reading “Nancy Drew, the Hardy Boys, Tom Swift, and zillions of comic books”. He read “books that made [him] laugh, but also made [him] shiver in terror.” Wanting to impart those sorts of feeling to others is what spurred his love of writing. Coville knew he wanted to be a writer by his mid-teens, and by age 19 he “never looked back.” His first novel, The Foolish Giant, was published in 1977.

With no set paradigm for writing, Coville has successfully tried everything from writing from a strict outline to “writing from the seat of my pants.” As of 2015, he uses what he calls an “ever-expanding outline” where he outlines the beginning and end of a novel, and works to fill in the middle later.

Coville has written over 100 books for young adults, with translations in over a dozen languages. He has said that even with over 100 books under his belt, it gets harder and harder to write each successive book; he’s concerned with living up to the work already written as well as not repeating himself.

Coville is also the co-founder of Full Cast Audio, an audiobook company devoted to recording full-cast, unabridged copies of young-adult fiction.

Beverly Cleary

Beverly Atlee Cleary is an American writer of children’s and young adult fiction. One of America’s most successful living authors, 91 million copies of her books have been sold worldwide since her first book was published in 1950. Some of her best known characters are Henry Huggins and his dog Ribsy, Ramona and Beezus Quimby, and Ralph S. Mouse.

Cleary’s first book, Henry Huggins (1950), was accepted for immediate publication and was the first in a series of fictional chapter books about Henry, his dog Ribsy, his neighborhood friend Beezus and her little sister Ramona.Like many of her later works, Henry Huggins is a novel about people living ordinary lives and is based on Cleary’s own childhood experiences, the kids in her neighborhood growing up, as well as children she met while working as a librarian.

Cleary’s first book to center a story on the Quimby sisters, Beezus and Ramona, was published in 1955. A publisher asked her to write a book about a kindergarten student. Cleary resisted, because she had not attended kindergarten, but later changed her mind after the birth of her twins.[citation needed] She has written two memoirs, A Girl from Yamhill (1988) and My Own Two Feet (1995). During a 2011 interview for the Los Angeles Times, at age 95, Cleary stated, “I’ve had an exceptionally happy career.”

Judy Blume

Judy Blume is an American writer known for children’s and young adult (YA) fiction.[1] Some of her best known works are Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret (1970), Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing (1972), Deenie (1973), and Blubber (1974). The New Yorker has called her books “talismans that, for a significant segment of the American female population, marked the passage from childhood to adolescence.”

Publishing her first novel in 1969, Blume is credited as one of the first authors to write YA novels about topics that some still consider to be taboo. According to Blume, “I wanted to be honest. And I felt that no adult had been honest with me. We didn’t have the information we should have had.” Blume has received praise for addressing the common, but often unspoken worries of her fans from masturbation and menstruation to teen sex, birth control, and death. This has also led to criticism from individuals and groups that would like to see her books banned.The American Library Association (ALA) has named Blume as one of the most frequently challenged authors of the 21st century.

James Howe

James Howe has written more than eighty books in the thirty-plus years he’s been writing for young readers. It sometimes confuses people that the author of the humorous Bunnicula series also wrote the dark young adult novel, The Watcher, or such beginning reader series as Pinky and Rex and the E.B. White Read Aloud Award-winning Houndsley and Catina and its sequels. But from the beginning of his career (which came about somewhat by accident after asking himself what kind of vampire a rabbit might make), he has been most interested in letting his imagination take him in whatever direction it cared to. So far, his imagination has led him to picture books, such as I Wish I Were a Butterfly and Brontorina (about a dinosaur who dreams of being a ballerina), mysteries, poetry (in the upcoming Addie on the Inside), and fiction that deals with issues that matter deeply to him. He is especially proud of The Misfits, which inspired national No Name-Calling Week (www.nonamecallingweek.org) and its sequel Totally Joe. He does not know where his imagination will take him in the next thirty-plus years, but he is looking forward to finding out.

Enid Blyton

Born in 1897 in South London, Enid Mary Blyton was the eldest of three children, and showed an early interest in music and reading. She was educated at St. Christopher’s School, Beckenham, and – having decided not to pursue her music – at Ipswich High School, where she trained as a kindergarten teacher. She taught for five years before her 1924 marriage to editor Hugh Pollock, with whom she had two daughters. This marriage ended in divorce, and Blyton remarried in 1943, to surgeon Kenneth Fraser Darrell Waters. She died in 1968, one year after her second husband.

Enid Blyton was a prolific author of children’s books, who penned an estimated 800 books over about 40 years. Her stories were often either children’s adventure and mystery stories, or fantasies involving magic. Notable series include: The Famous Five, The Secret Seven, The Five Find-Outers, Noddy, The Wishing Chair, Mallory Towers, and St. Clare’s.

Lynne Reid Banks

Lynne Reid Banks is a British author of books for children and adults. She has written forty books, including the best-selling children’s novel The Indian in the Cupboard, which has sold over 10 million copies and been made into a film.

Banks was born in London, the only child of James and Muriel Reid Banks. She was evacuated to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada during World War II but returned after the war was over. She attended St Teresa’s School in Surrey. Prior to becoming a writer Banks was an actress, and also worked as a television journalist in Britain, one of the first women to do so. Her first novel, The L-Shaped Room, was published in 1960.

In 1962 Banks emigrated to Israel, where she taught for eight years on an Israeli kibbutz Yasur. In 1965 she married Chaim Stephenson, with whom she had three sons. Although the family returned to England in 1971 and Banks now lives in Dorset with her husband, the influence of her time in Israel can be seen in some of her books which are set partially or mainly on kibbutzim.

Barbara Robinson

Barbara Robinson  was an American author best known for her children’s books, particularly The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (1972) and The Best School Year Ever (1994).

Barbara Robinson was born and raised in Portsmouth, Ohio, and had no brothers or sisters. Her father died when she was three. Robinson’s mother, a schoolteacher in Portsmouth for forty-nine years, got her interest in books, and she began writing very early. Robinson attended Allegheny College, where she received a bachelor’s degree in theatre.

In addition to her children’s books, Robinson wrote many short stories in publications such as McCall’s, Redbook and Ladies Home Journal, and has some books of poetry.

Robinson lived in Berwyn, Pennsylvania, a suburb of Philadelphia. She died July 9, 2013, at her home in Berwyn. She was 85 and had cancer. Robinson had two daughters with her husband John F. Robinson: Carolyn and Marjorie; three grandchildren: Tomas, Marcos, and Lucas

Astrid Lindgren

Astrid Anna Emilia Lindgren  14 November 1907 – 28 January 2002) was a Swedish writer of fiction and screenplays. She is best known for children’s book series featuring Pippi Longstocking, Emil i Lönneberga, Karlsson-on-the-Roof, and the Six Bullerby Children (Children of Noisy Village in the US), as well as the children’s fantasy novels Mio min Mio, Ronia the Robber’s Daughter and The Brothers Lionheart.

As of May 2013, she is the world’s 18th most translated author[1] and the third most-translated children’s writer after H. C. Andersen and the Grimm brothers. Lindgren has sold roughly 144 million books worldwide.

Lindgren worked as a journalist and secretary before becoming a full-time author. She served as a secretary for the 1933 Swedish Summer Grand Prix.

In 1944 Lindgren won second prize in a competition held by Rabén & Sjögren, a new publishing house, with the novel Britt-Marie lättar sitt hjärta (Britt-Marie unburdens her heart). A year later she won first prize in the same competition with the chapter book Pippi Långstrump (Pippi Longstocking), which had been rejected by Bonniers. (Rabén & Sjögren published it with illustrations by Ingrid Vang Nyman, the latter’s debut in Sweden.) Since then it has become one of the most beloved children’s books in the world and has been translated into 60 languages.[citation needed] While Lindgren almost immediately became a much appreciated writer, the irreverent attitude towards adult authority that is a distinguishing characteristic of many of her characters has occasionally drawn the ire of some conservatives.

The women’s magazine Damernas Värld sent Lindgren to the USA in 1948 to write short essays. Upon arrival she is said to have been upset by the discrimination against black Americans. A few years later she published the book Kati in America, a collection of short essays inspired by the trip.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.